The PR Girl Toolbox…

 

Tanisha’s Tips: My 21-Day Financial Fast, Days 6-12

By Tanisha A. Sykes

http://www.essence.com/2014/01/17/tanishas-tips-my-21-day-financial-fast-day-3

Senior Editor Tanisha A. Sykes takes you on a 21-day journey to becoming debt-free, as prescribed by author Michelle Singletary.

Fasting is a Journey, Not a Race

“Today, I’ll think about something in my life that I did or purchased that I now realize was giving in to a sense of entitlement.” -Michelle Singletary

 Days 6-12:

 So far, so good on the fast. I can honestly say my mind-set is starting to change in terms of not spending on miscellaneous items. I’ve always been responsible; paying bills, lowering debt and investing for my future. But I didn’t realize how daily spending on items I didn’t need affected my overall budget. The great news is that I’ve already paid off $1,000 of debt over the past couple of weeks. Here are some lessons from Days 6-12 on how I did it:

Day 6 Lesson:

Money is clarity. When my finances are right, everything else falls into place.

Day 7 Lesson:

I know a lot of people who say ‘I don’t make enough money.’ I was one of them. In reality, you’re spending too much.

Day 8 Lesson:

There’s a big difference between wants and needs. Wants are nice to have. Needs are necessary. Before you buy one more thing, ask yourself ‘Is this a want or a need?’

Day 9 Lesson:

Habits are easy to break and hard to create. It’s Day 9 and I’ve finally been taking my lunch for six days straight. This fast is working. 

Day 10 Lesson:

I had like 5 money goals that I was trying to accomplish simultaneously in 2013. Nothing got done. This is my year to focus and get it done one step at a time. 

Day 11 Lesson:

People have a lot to say about your business and nothing to say about their own. It’s time for me to mind my own business and forget the noise.

Day 12 Lesson:

The best lesson of all: With each passing day, God gives me the courage to do what He intended me to do.

About The Evolution! Society

"This is my life. It is my ONE time to be ME. I want to experience EVERY GOOD thing."--Maya Angelou "My Lyfe, My Vybe"--Crystal

Posted on February 13, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

