The Color Purple “The Musical”

It finally came to Indianapolis, now I saw this when I was in Chicago, but it had nothing on this Indianapolis local cast we saw this past weekend. The Color Purple “The Musical” at The Athenaeum Theater, . I remember the first time my mother took me and my sister to see The Color Purple when it premiered in the box of 1985. So I was more than excited to return the favor and take her to the musical production. Also to support several of my close friends in this musical, I am sooo proud of all of them.

The Color Purple is an inspiring family saga that tells the unforgettable story of a woman who, through love, finds the strength to triumph over adversity and discover her unique voice in the world.

This musical adaptation of Alice Walker’s Pulitzer Prize-winning novel (and the popular 1985 Steven Spielberg film) spotlights Celie, a downtrodden young woman whose personal awakening over the course of 40 years forms the arc of this epic story.

color 4

Joyce Lycorish
Procucer The Color Purple “The Musical”
color 8

Our Emcee Gloria Brown
color 9a

Starring Indy’s finest African American Talents including:
Deaon ‘Forever’ Smith as Mister
Makeda Grier as Celie
Erreol Robinson as Nettie
Izzy Amore as Harpo
Joyce Licorish as Sofia
Dee Dutchez Duvall as Shug Avery
Choreography by Iibada Dance Troupe

Directed Produced by Joyce Licorish

THE Color Purple
Based Upon The Novel Written By Alice Walker
And The Warner Bros./Amblin Entertainment Motion PICTURE
Book by Music and Lyrics by
MARSHA Norman Brenda Allee Stephen
Russell Willis Bray

The Color Purple was produced on Broadway at the Broadway Theater by Oprah Winfrey, Scott Sanders, Roy Furman, and Quincy Jones.
The world premiere of The Color Purple was produced by the Alliance Theatre, Atlanta, Georgia

Family Photo(my sister, my niece & nephews, my mom, me)
color 15

Izzy As “Harpo”, Tori (Makeup & Hair)
color 14

Faith & My Beautiful Daughter
Behing The Scenes
color 17

Me & My Girl Faith
color 16

My Girl Dee & I
color 13

Dee as “Shug Avery”
color 12

The Castcolor 10

color 9

About The Evolution! Society

"This is my life. It is my ONE time to be ME. I want to experience EVERY GOOD thing."--Maya Angelou "My Lyfe, My Vybe"--Crystal

Posted on February 26, 2014, in "Crystal In The City" and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

