The Daniel Plan Challenge 3/12-4/20….

40 Days with The Daniel Plan

 As we come upon Lent Season I have decided to try something new with my Lent season routine. A few months ago a relative of mine (who seriously made some life changes January 2013) shared with me  Pastor Rick Warren and Doctors Daniel Amen, and Mark Hyman book called The Daniel Plan which is a New York Times Best Seller. This plan is based on the book of Daniel in the bible The plan is different from the fast or diet because it focuses on a lifestyle change with the 5 Fs Faith, Food, Fitness, Focus, Friends.  The plan is designed for you to do it with another person or group of people for support. I wasn’t really interested in following the plan, because I was focused on the fast but my cousin  asked me to do it with her, so I did. Over the last few years I would always participate in our corporate fast at the church around Lent season.

 thedanielplan

On January 9th I will start my 3 day detox (not required, but recommended) before I start the Daniel Plan which would mean clean eating for a total of 40 days. During this 3-day detox will  eliminate dairy, breads, pasta, caffeine, sugar, fast food, and everything else that I used to survive on. The first 2-3 days are  the most difficult, but then it becomes second nature. I never realized how flavorful and sweet foods were without all of the “stuff” we put in it.  I mainly eat lots of veggies, protein, sprouts, nuts, and whole grains. I eat lots of quinoa, avocado, kale, broccoli, spinach, almonds, celery, carrots,  pumpkin seeds, blueberries, strawberries, bell peppers, chicken, shrimp, lamb, wild salmon, lean beef, beans,  hearty white fish like swordfish, fresh herbs, sweet potatoes, apples, tomatoes, lots of garlic red potatoes, onions, and citrus.  I use almond butter (try some with an apple OMG!), raw honey, and stevia extract as my sugar substitute. I bought a juicer so I have fresh juice probably once a week. I mainly drink herbal tea without sugar with a touch of honey (honey is a nautral swetner) I always have fun  making different meals! The options are limitless.

  thedanielplancookbookthedetox

 This process was difficult when it came to meal prep. I had to make sure I had breakfast, lunch, dinner, and 2 snacks for everyday of the week. My eating habits on the weekend were terrible and I has a huge snacker. I love chips and cookies. Working on the go I tend to pick up bad habits. I had to make sure I could fight the temptation with plenty of healthy snacks that I keep in my purse.

 So after 40 days you can expect to see….

More energy- I have so much more energy! I would come home from work and just be tired, now I have the energy to cook, workout, and complete assignments for work and school.

Clearer Skin

Lost weight! I lost about 5lbs after the detox. 

Feel lighter! Food weighs you down. Now that I’m eating clean I feel the total difference.

Your mood may change – I didn’t realize how moody I was until now. I am so much happier! I never considered myself to be unhappy or miserable, but I don’t stress about a lot of things anymore.

Clarity- my mind is a lot more clearer. I feel like I can hear God’s voice more. I’m more focused than ever before.

One thing that I learned throughout this process of fasting was how important it is to be disciplined. God gave me the word discipline to be my focus for 2014. I know that he has great things in store for me this year, but they will not be handed to me. I know that I need to be disciplined to achieve my goals.

 

 

Stop Dieting and Just be Healthy The Wellness Lifestyle Overview I have discovered great recipes, ordered the Daniel Plan Cookbook, and I actually enjoy meal prep. I need to stock my house with more snack options to feel complete lol. I’m working on transforming my kitchen into a Daniel Plan Kitchen complete with all of the appliances and necessary foods and spices to continue going strong. My last day on the plan is April 20th, but this is definitely a updated lifestyle change.  Now I just have to be consistent with my workouts (I’m getting ready to join a gym) and then I’ll be on my way to continue with  healthier lifestyle. My brother is starting to eat clean and my god mother purchased the book as well. I can’t wait for the rest of my family to join in.

One site that I go to frequently for food inspiration is Lexi’s Clean Kitchen. She is AMAZING! I made some lemon poppy seed pancakes one day and they were awesome. Check out her site.

 

Stay tuned for more updates and maybe even some recipes!

About The Evolution! Society

"This is my life. It is my ONE time to be ME. I want to experience EVERY GOOD thing."--Maya Angelou "My Lyfe, My Vybe"--Crystal

Posted on March 8, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

