Halloween Alternatives For Christians

bonfire

As a child, I enjoyed Halloween. Trick or treating, costume contests, pumpkins, bobbing for apples (of course totally disgusting now) were the traditions I use to look forward to. I even won a costume contest or two back in the day.

I grew up celebrating Halloween like most people. My parents encouraged the costumes and the scary decorations and the trick or treating. Halloween became the time of year to go see the bloodiest horror movies at the theater. It was all ‘just fun’ and it didn’t ‘hurt anybody’. 

Now I’m a Christian parent, and Halloween remains controversial in my world. So I’m faced with the decision — should I trick-or-treat with my kids? I’ve decided it’s okay. 

But, the older I got, the more confused I became about the traditions, and whether or not, as a Christian, I should celebrate or allow my children to participate.

For my Christian children, who know God and the things of God, we do allow some enjoyment during this time of year. However, there are some restrictions. In no way is there ever any worshiping or idolizing of any, other than our one true God, our Lord and Savior. WCS Hayride

This is understood. We do, however, allow for some fun. October 31st is one day of wearing a silly costume to school and collecting candy. There is no decorating our home with ghosts and goblins, no haunted houses, and never a costume or pretend play celebrating death or darkness.

As parents, we hate to disappoint our children, but we are also responsible for guiding them spiritually and leading them to Christ. If your struggle is balancing the two, here are a few ideas for how Christians can “celebrate” Halloween:

Hosting a fall harvest party

This is a great way to celebrate the change of the season with games, pumpkin carving contests, caramel apple and cooking decorating, and food. Your children will love having friends over and appreciate still having those tasty sweet goodies.

Having a family movie night

Here is another great way to spend the evening. Turning the lights off and snuggling up for a movie, like the Prince of Egypt, is fun, but could also minimize the number of trick or treaters you get who think you’re not home. This makes it easier for a child who isn’t able to trick or treat.

Bonfire/Hayride or Pumpkin Patch Field Trip

I love food, music and bonfire during this time of the year. I can teach my kids about nature, harvesting and enjoy the presence of the Fall season. We love to roast marshmallows, roast nuts and tell our favorite stories, of why we enjoy the Fall crisp newness of the season (it’s my daughter’s favorite time of the year; cause it’s her birthday season).

As Christians’ what are some of your alternatives to celebrate?

About The Evolution! Society

"This is my life. It is my ONE time to be ME. I want to experience EVERY GOOD thing."--Maya Angelou "My Lyfe, My Vybe"--Crystal

Posted on October 21, 2015, in "Crystal In The City" and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

