Wellness Wednesday 4/6

Daily Meal Plan for People With Anemia

Photo Credit toniamarie/iStock/Getty Images

I have Iron Deficiency Anemia, and I’m not afraid to admit it, but I always have since a very young age. I’ve had it all my life but as I get older I’ve learned that there are some things I can do to assist with why I feel tired all the time. But I’ve learned how to deal with changing my diet, and unhealthy habits to live a better lifestyle.

If you’ve felt fatigued or unusually exhausted, consider whether you have anemia. Anemia is a medical condition where your body does not have enough red blood cells to function properly. Whether your body isn’t producing enough red blood cells, red blood cells are being destroyed by your body, or the anemia is caused by another medical condition, see your doctor for a diagnosis. While you’ll need to follow the specific treatment regimen provided by your doctor, you may also need to take supplements, change your diet, and use medications. Iron deficiency anemia is the most common nutritional disorder in the world, according to 2013 information.

Anemia Treatment for Iron Deficiency. Iron-deficiency anemia is the most common type of anemia. If your blood is low in iron, it can’t make hemoglobin. Typical causes of iron-deficiency anemia are a diet low in iron, your body’s inability to absorb iron, or blood loss.

If you suffer from anemia like myself, here some of the steps I take in order to live a better lifestyle with being anemic. I am not a physician I just know what I do to better help my anemia situation..everybody is different. You should consult a physician, or nutritionist before taking any medication or changing any eating formations of eating habits as some foods may contour react with medications.

Increase your iron intake. If you take an iron supplement as directed by your doctor, you should be able to improve your iron levels over time, which may treat anemia caused by iron deficiency. There are some side effects from iron supplementation, including dark stools, stomach upset, heartburn, and constipation. If your anemia is mild, your doctor may just recommend that you eat more iron-rich foods. The following are good sources of iron:

  • Red meat (beef and liver)
  • Poultry (chicken and turkey)
  • Seafood
  • Cereals and breads fortified with iron
  • Legumes (peas; lentils; white, red, and baked beans; soybeans; and chickpeas)
  • Tofu
  • Dried fruits (prunes, raisins, and apricots)
  • Spinach and other dark green leafy vegetables
  • Prune juice
  • Vitamin C helps your body absorb iron, so your doctor will likely recommend that you drink a glass of orange juice or consume foods high in vitamin C along with your iron supplement.
Take vitamin B12. If your anemia is caused by a vitamin deficiency, take a vitamin B12 supplement if your doctor recommends it. Most likely, your doctor will give you a vitamin B12 injection or pill once a month.[3] This will allow your doctor to monitor your red blood levels and determine how long treatment is needed. You can also get vitamin B12 from food. Foods high in vitamin B12 include:[4]

  • Eggs
  • Milk
  • Cheese
  • Meat
  • Fish
  • Shellfish
  • Poultry
  • Foods fortified with vitamin B12 (like soy beverages and vegetarian burgers)[5

Get more folate (folic acid). Folic acid is another B vitamin that is needed for proper blood cell growth. A folate deficiency can cause anemia, so your doctor will most likely recommend a supplement dosage to treat your condition. If your symptoms are moderate to severe, you may be given folate injections or pills for at least 2 to 3 months.[6] You can also get folate from your diet. Foods with high levels of folic acid include:[7]

  • Bread, pasta, and rice fortified with folic acid
  • Spinach and other dark green leafy vegetables
  • Black-eyed peas and dried beans
  • Beef liver
  • Eggs
  • Bananas, oranges, orange juice, and some other fruits and juices

http://www.nytimes.com/ref/health/healthguide/esn-anemia-expert.html

My Anemia Super Breakfast

Nut-milk & fruitola sundae for breakfast: A recipe from serendipity

PIC1090949677106 Breakfast today was delicious.

Last week, I made some granola approximating the Apple-Cinnamon Maple Pecan recipe from The Complete Idiot’s Guide to Eating Raw. I could not find any raw buckwheat groats at either Whole Foods or Vitamin Cottage so substituted raw barley from the Whole Foods bulk-bins department. So the recipe was

  • I-1/2 cups raisins soaked for at least 1 hour (up to overnight)
  • 2 cups raw barley, soaked for at least 12 hours in the refrigerator (I soaked mine for 24 hours)
  • 1 cup water (the recipe says filtered but I am not that fussy; may be in the future but not now)
  • I medium apple chopped in the food processor with the “S” blade
  • 6 tablespoons pure maple syrup
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon alcohol-free vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup of pecans soaked for at least an hour and chopped into small pieces (I just broke them up with my hands)

Put apple pieces, water, raisins, syrup, cinnamon, and vanilla in food processor with “S” blade or blender and blend on low until the stuff forms “a chunky paste.” (Note: the recipe calls for 1/4 teaspoon of nutmeg here, too, but I left that out.)

 

Happy Living 🙂

“C”

 

About The Evolution! Society

"This is my life. It is my ONE time to be ME. I want to experience EVERY GOOD thing."--Maya Angelou "My Lyfe, My Vybe"--Crystal

Posted on April 6, 2016, in Wellness Wednesday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

