Daily Archives: April 3, 2014

MFF is doing the #8for30 challenge!

 

MFF is doing the #8for30 challenge!

As you know, last week I attended the Get Radical Women’s Conference. I received so much valuable information and met so many wonderful women.

One of the featured speakers was Jean Chatzky. During her keynote, Jean mentioned a challenge she’d taken on which she dubbed the closet ‘sixperiment’. Check out the video:

 http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/21134540/vp/38970456#38970456

Visit NBCNews.com for breaking news, world news, and news about the economy

I had to ask myself, could I wear only 6 items for 30 days?

Well, me and  two fellow “fly on a dime” bloggers boos, T. Espinoza and Aisha decided to rise to the challenge and give it a shot. Six items was a little too intense for us. It gave me anxiety y’all. So we bumped it up from 6 pieces to 8. We toyed around with the idea of 10 but settled on 8 since it would challenge us but not drive us crazy.

8for30

I chose the following pieces from my wardrobe:

8items

1.Black pleated skirt 2. Pair of black pants 3. Pair of jeans 4. Black dress 5. Sleeveless black top 6. Leopard and tan lightweight sweater 7. Beige blouse 8.Blue lace button up shirt

We have agreed that cardigans and blazers are okay because they are being used as accessories.You wouldn’t wear a blazer by itself right? Work with me lol We also can wear whatever accessories and shoes we choose.

You can check out how my girls are handling the #8for30 by following us on social media.
I am: @financially _fab
T. Espinoza is: @TheStyleMedic
Aisha is: @FNphenomenal

~ What say you?

~ Will you join our little challenge?

~ What items of clothing could you absolutely NOT live without for 30 days?

 

The PR Girl Toolbox….

Mini Daily Lifesavers for the Career Girl

Have to say I’m a little proud that I had some of you fooled with the post yesterday, though also a little scared. Though it is a dream of mine to have  chicken coop in my backyard at one point in my life, I know New York City is my home for the foreseeable future.  Yes, it can be stressful here, but we always hope to encourage our readers to believe that if you want to make it here, you CAN make it here.

That belief comes a little bit easier if you learn to take time each and every day to enrich your life. I was really inspired by this post on The Everygirl with “The New Meaning of Luxury.” After a crazy March with work and personal commitments, I’m looking forward to embracing spring and greeting each day with a positive attitude and fun, simple activities. Even in the middle of chilly spring showers, the urban weekdays can have their charms.

Here are a few daily lifesavers you can slip into your workday routine:

Enjoy your coffee/tea time – Buy yourself a pretty mug. Get some tea you really like (I like this one from Yogi) or pick a coffee from the office you can deal with, and add stevia and almond milk. Catch up on news of the day (The Skimm is a favorite) and don’t do any work just yet. Taking 5 minutes to myself each morning, even if it’s at my desk, helps my sanity by 10 fold.

Have a virtual escape – This is my favorite. Every day I always try to check a few blogs I love for creative and style inspiration. While I love Pinterest, there are a few tumblr blogs I really love. I also always check With Love from Kat, Cupcakes and Cashmere, The Glitter Guide and Vanilla Extract.

Keep beauty essentials on hand – I’m a little spoiled here because I work in beauty PR, but the last week I spent away from my desk and my favorite hand lotion I was DYING. My hands are still trying to recoup. It’s good to have a little beauty routine at your desk to keep you feeling good. I use hand lotion a couple times a day, and try to remember cuticle oil when I’m on a long call.

Have a sweet thang – I’m addicted to sugar, and need to control it. But I find if I indulge just a tad at the end of the day or after lunch, I’m happier over all. For the every day, have a couple squares of dark chocolate. When it’s getting a little rough, try a new gourmet cookie, cupcake or doughnut from a local shop

Set the mood – I love the new Spotify “Browse” feature with mood playlists. Right now I’m listening to “Rainy Day” for a soft background. When I’m super stressed, I also light a lavender candle I have in my office. If candles are a no-no (most the time, they are), find another way to add fragrance to your office space. Changes your world.